Who won the first Hockey World Cup?

Who won the first Hockey World Cup?

The first Hockey World Cup was held in Barcelona, Spain in 1971. The tournament was organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) and was won by Pakistan.

The tournament was hosted at the Estadi Olímpic de Montjuïc and featured eight teams: India, Pakistan, Kenya, Netherlands, Spain, New Zealand, Argentina, and Mexico. Pakistan was the clear favorite going into the tournament and they lived up to expectations by winning all seven of their matches. Pakistan defeated arch-rivals India in the finals by a score of 2-1, making them the first ever Hockey World Cup champions.

The tournament was a huge success, and it helped to popularize the sport of hockey around the world. Since then, the Hockey World Cup has been held every four years, with the most recent edition being held in 2018 in Bhubaneswar, India.

The Hockey World Cup is one of the most prestigious international tournaments in the sport and the competition is always fierce. In the 47 years since its inception, the Hockey World Cup has been dominated by India and Pakistan, who have won a combined seven titles. Australia and the Netherlands are the two other nations to have won the tournament.
Share With Friends
[email protected] Whatsapp Group ചേരാൻ ഇവിടെ ക്ലിക്ക് ചെയ്യുക


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here